Curling Canada – 2015 Canadian Senior Curling Championships
Don't Miss

History – Canadian Senior Women’s Championship

In 1971, a committee headed by Sylvia Fedoruk of Saskatoon was appointed by the Canadian Ladies Curling Association (CLCA) to research the possibility of establishing a Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship.

The committee’s report was handed down at the Annual General Meeting in 1972 and the result was the creation of the Senior Ladies Championship. The inaugural event was operated with a budget of $12,000 and held at the RA Club at Ottawa in March of 1973.

The Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) began its sponsorship of the CIBC Seniors at Saint John, New Brunswick in 1995 and concluded its association after the 1999 championship. The CCA resumed sponsorship of the championship in 2000.

In 2010, World Financial Group (WFG) became the title sponsor not only of the Canadian Seniors Championships but also the unique international curling competition known as the Continental Cup. WFG sponsored the Canadian Seniors for 2010 and 2011 only, but has extended its involvement as title sponsor of the Continental Cup through 2016.

Everest, the first nationwide funeral planning and concierge service, became the title sponsor of the Canadian Seniors beginning in 2015, the start of a three-year agreement.

The senior men’s and women’s championships were conducted separately at different venues until being combined in 1985 at Yorkton, Saskatchewan.

In 2012, for the first time, all 14 Member Associations of the Canadian Curling Association were given the opportunity to qualify for the Canadian Seniors.   This necessitated a pre-event qualifying event on Thursday/Friday before the competition officially began, in order to qualify two teams into a 12-team main draw.

This pre-event qualifying format continued in 2013 and 2014 but has been replaced by a new format, beginning in 2015, whereby all teams, after seeding based on the previous year’s results, now participate in a round robin within their pool before moving on to either the Championship Round or Seeding Pool.

Ontario leads all provinces with 10 wins since 1973, followed by British Columbia with eight. Newfoundland/Labrador and P.E.I. are the only provinces yet to win the championship.

British Columbia’s Flora Martin (1974, 1975, 1979, 1980), Ontario’s Jill Greenwood (1990, 1993, 1996, 1998) and Ontario’s Anne Dunn (2001, 2002, 2004, 2006) are the only four-time winning skips.

Saskatchewan’s Ev Krahn (1984, 1985, 1986) and Quebec’s Agnès Charette (1997, 1999, 2000) are three-time winning skips.

Four teams have also gone undefeated while winning the title – Alberta in 1976 (skip Hadie Manley), Saskatchewan in 1985 (skip Ev Krahn), Northern Ontario in 1991 (skip Eila Brown) and Ontario in 2004 (skip Anne Dunn).

British Columbia’s Pat Sanders is the only skip to win the Scotties Tournament of Hearts (1987), World Women’s (1987) and Canadian Senior Women’s (2008).   Sanders also won the 2010 Canadian Senior Women’s, this time playing second for Christine Jurgenson, who in turn had played second for Marilyn Bodogh when winning the 1986 Scotties and World Women’s.

Saskatchewan’s Nancy Kerr won the 1980 Scotties and Worlds as third for Marj Mitchell, before skipping her team to victory at the 2003 Canadian Seniors.

Veteran Scotties Tournament of Hearts skip Heidi Hanlon of New Brunswick won her province’s first Canadian Senior Women’s title in 2011, while Alberta skip Cathy King is the only one to win the Canadian Juniors (1977, 1978), Scotties (as Borst in 1998) and Canadian Senior Women’s (2012).

Quebec’s Agnès Charette holds the record for the most game wins as skip (86) and most appearances as skip (11).

Since 2002, when the World Seniors officially began, Canada has won a leading nine times, while the runner-up on three other occasions.   In 2002, 2003 and 2004, the Canadian senior women’s champion represented Canada at the World Seniors, which was then held in conjunction with the Ford Worlds. Ontario’s Anne Dunn (2002, 2004) and Saskatchewan’s Nancy Kerr (2003) were victorious at the first three World Seniors.

However, when the dates of the Canadian Seniors shifted to later in the season, beginning in 2005, when the event was no longer part of the Season of Champions, it became necessary for the reigning Canadian champion to represent Canada at the following year’s World Seniors.

Thus, Dunn did the honours again in 2005 as reigning Canadian and World Seniors champion but finished fourth. Alberta’s Diane Foster won the 2007 Canadian and 2008 World Senior Women’s titles.   Since then, other winners of both events are British Columbia’s Pat Sanders in 2008 and 2009; Nova Scotia’s Colleen Pinkney in 2009 and 2010; British Columbia’s Christine Jurgenson in 2010 and 2011; New Brunswick’s Heidi Hanlon in 2011 and 2012 and Alberta’s Cathy King in 2012 and 2013.