Français Subscribe:

2013 Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship History

Quebec wins its first Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship

The Quebec team from the Magog Curling Club led throughout the round robin, and in the championship final they showed why, dominating the game for a decisive 10-2 victory over B.C. on Sunday afternoon at the RA Centre in Ottawa…Read the Full Story.

Teams who competed

Skip: Ken Gregory
Third: Collinda Joseph
Second: Jon Thurston
Lead: Chrissy Molnar
Coach: Carl Rennick (not shown)
Skip: Bruno Yizek
Third: Jack Smart
Second: Martin Purvis
Lead: Anne Hibberd
Alternate: Wendy Frazier
Coach: Andy Jones
British Columbia
Skip: Gary Cormack
Third:  Frank La Bounty
Coach: Karen Watson
Second: Vince Miele
Lead: Alison Duddy
Alternate: Samantha Siu
Third: Dennis Thiessen
Second: Mark Wherrett
Skip: Chris Sobkowicz
Alternate: Doris Peloquin
Lead: Melissa Lecuyer
Coach: Tom Wherrett (not shown)
Newfoundland & Labrador
Lead: Cecilia Carroll
Second: Felix Green
Coach: Leslie Anne Walsh
Third: Darlene Jackman
Skip: Joanne MacDonald
New Brunswick
Thistle St. Andrews, Saint John
Skip: Michael Fitzgerald
Third: Jonathan Alexander
Second: Jon Polley
Lead: Kayla Todd
Coach: Wayne Cooper
Northern Ontario
Coach: Michael Bergquist
Skip: Gino Sonego
Third: Doug Dean
Second: Richard Dawid
Lead: Lola Graham
Ass’t Coach: Doug Gelmich
Nova Scotia
Skip: Trendal Hubley-Bolivar
Third: Devin Forbes
Second: Keith Williams
Lead: Debbie Earle
Alternate: Terry Cousineau
Coach: Bill Fletcher
Skip: Benoit Lessard
Third: Carl Marquis
Second: Sébastien Boisvert
Lead: Johanne Daly
Coach: Germain Tremblay
Skip: Darwin Bender
Third: Gil Dash
Second: Marie Wright
Lead: Larry Schrader
Coach: Bob Capp
Coach: Lorraine Arguin

Championship Final

British Columbia0010010xxx2

Final Standings

TeamWinsLossFinal Position
Quebec (Lessard)*81Gold Medal
British Columbia (Cormack)*72Silver Medal
Alberta (Yizek)*63Bronze Medal
Northern Ontario (Bergquist)*544
Manitoba (Thiessen)455
Newfoundland and Labrador (Carroll)456
Ontario (Gregory)367
Nova Scotia (Hubley-Bolivar)368
Saskatchewan (Bender)369
New Brunswick (Fitzgerald)2710

*Denotes teams that participated in the playoff rounds.

Award Winners

Sébastien BoisvertSportsmanshipQuebec
Benoit LessardAll-StarQuebec
Frank La BountyAll-StarBritish Columbia
Mark WherrettAll-StarManitoba
Johanne Daly & Alison DuddyAll-StarQuebec & British Columbia

Draw Schedule 

Click here to download the complete draw schedule.