About the Event

Played on the same ice, with the same rocks as regular curling, wheelchair curling has grown in Canada, and the world, over the past decade.

Wheelchair Curling Rules

  1. Stones are delivered from a stationary wheelchair and the stone must be positioned completely within 18 inches (45.72 cm) of the centre line. Curling clubs that have active wheelchair programs or clubs hosting wheelchair competitions should install two (2) lines eighteen (18) inches (45.72 cm) on either side of the centre line running from the inside edge of the hog line to the outside edge of the twelve (12) foot circle.
  2. During delivery, the wheels of the chair must be in direct contact with the ice and the feet of the player delivering the stone must not touch the ice surface during delivery.
  3. The delivery of the stone is undertaken by the conventional arm/hand release or by the use of an approved delivery stick.
  4. Stones must be released from the hand or stick before the stone reaches the hog line at the delivering end.
  5. A stone is in play when it reaches the hog line at the delivering end. A stone that has not reached the hog line at the delivering end may be returned to the player and redelivered.
  6. Sweeping is not permitted.
  7. CCA sanctioned wheelchair competitions require that all participating teams be comprised of both genders for all games. Motorized wheelchairs are acceptable.
  8. Each team shall receive sixty‚Äźeight (68) minutes of playing time for an eight (8) end game. Each team shall be permitted two (2) timeouts per game. A timeout shall be sixty (60) seconds in length. There will be a seven (7) minute break at the conclusion of the fourth (4th) end.
  9. When extra ends are required, the clocks will be reset and each team shall receive ten (10) minutes of playing time and one (1) sixty second timeout for each extra end.

The team that represents Canada at the World Championships and Paralympic Games is a nationally selected team.

To promote development in the sport, a Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship has been held since 2004. These Championships have been hosted by Ontario (2004, 2007, 2012), British Columbia (2005, 2006, 2010), Alberta (2011) and Nova Scotia (2009).

In 2013, the RA Centre, located in Ottawa, is proud to host the event for the second time.

Representatives from British Columbia have won the most Canadian Championships (2007-2010).

Latest Videos from the Wheelchair


Latest Photos from the Wheelchair

Click here to go to our Flickr Galleries