The World Men’s Curling Championship was initiated in 1959 under the title of the Scotch Cup, continuing under that name until 1967. The following year it became known as the Air Canada Silver Broom – a relationship that carried on until 1985.

It was 1995 that Ford became involved as title sponsor for the World Curling Championships when it was staged as a joint men’s and women’s competition. In 2005, the inaugural edition of the Ford World Men’s Curling Championship was hosted by Brandon, Manitoba. Ford Canada is the event sponsor every second year when the event takes place in a Canadian venue.

Canada has dominated the championship since its inception, winning the gold medal 33 times. Scotland and Sweden follow with five each, the United States has won four and Switzerland and Norway have taken the gold medal on three occasions.

The Ford World Men’s Curling Championship was last contested in Canada in 2011 in Regina, Saskatchewan. In 2013, it returns to Victoria, British Columbia, the scene of the 2005 championship.

Latest Videos from the Worlds


Latest Photos from the Worlds

Click here to go to our Flickr Galleries