All Stars and Sportsmanship Winner Declared at 2012 Scotties Tournament of Hearts

The first and second All Star teams were announced tonight with Team Manitoba claiming all of the spots on the first Team. The two teams were selected based solely on their statistics during round robin play.

Team Alberta at the 2012 Scotties Tournament of Hearts(Photo by: Andrew Klaver)

Leading the stats on the first All Star team was lead Dawn Askin (89%), second Jill Officer (83%), third Kaitlyn Lawes (85%) and Jennifer Jones at skip (83%). The Second All Star team included three Alberta team members; Beth Iskew at third (84%), Jessica Mair at second (83%) and lead Laine Peters (87%). At skip was BC’s Kelly Scott (78%). The Marj Mitchell Sportsmanship Award was presented to rookie Amanda Gates who was making her first appearance at the Scotties Tournament of Hearts at lead for Ontario. This cherished Award is selected solely by the curlers and is named in honour of the late Saskatchewan skip who won the first women’s World title for Canada in 1983.