Z - Recent Posts on Curling.ca / Laurier women and Alberta men golden at CIS/CCA Curling Championships

Laurier women and Alberta men golden at CIS/CCA Curling Championships

WELLAND, Ont. – On the final day of the 2012 CIS/CCA University Curling Championships, hosted by Brock University at the Welland Curling Club, the Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks women and Alberta Golden Bears men captured the national title and will represent Canada in Trentino, Italy.

In the women’s gold medal game, the Golden Hawks, led by senior skip Laura Crocker, captured their fourth national title in the past five years defeating the host Brock Badgers by the score of 9-2. Brock takes home silver for the second straight year.

Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks women's champions (Photo CSI/CCA University Championships)

“I am very grateful to have the opportunity to end my university career on top,” said Laurier skip Laura Crocker. “It is amazing how much support we get from our university and it has shown through our team’s performance on the ice.”

“The support we get from our university is amazing and that through their support we have done so well as a program,” said Sarah Wilkes.

On the women’s side, Laurier’s Laura Crocker (Skip), Sarah Wilkes (Vice), Jen Gates (Second) and Cheryl Kreviazuk (Lead) all earned CIS First Team All-Canadian honours.

Brock’s Joanne Curtis (Skip) and teammate Jessica Corrado (Vice) along with Manitoba’s Krysten Karwacki (Second) and Memorial’s Erica Trickett (Lead) were all named CIS Second Team All-Canadians.

Alberta Golden Bears men's champions (CIS/CCA University Championships)

In the men’s gold medal game, Alberta, led by 2012 World Junior Champion Brendan Bottcher, captured their first national title in school history defeating the Waterloo Warrriors by the score of 7-1.

Earning CIS First Team All-Canadian honours were Waterloo’s Jake Walker (Skip) and Edward Cyr (Vice) and Alberta’s Brad Thiessen (Second ) and Karrick Martin (Lead).

Alberta’s Brendan Bottcher (Skip) and Mick Lizmore (Vice) earned CIS Second Team Team All-Canadians honours along with Waterloo’s Geoff Chambers (Second) and UPEI’s Connor MacPhee (Lead).

The CIS Women’s Coach of the Year went to Laurier’s Maurice Wilson for the second straight season. The CIS Men’s Coach of the Year was Winnipeg’s Len Komyshyn.

Memorial’s Julie Devereaux and Winnipeg’s Joshua Drews received the R.W Pugh Fair Play Award for sportsmanship. These awards are voted on by their peers.

Men’s Final Standings

Alberta Golden Bears 6-1
Waterloo Warriors 5-2
Brock Badgers 4-3
Manitoba Bisons 3-4
Acadia Axemen 3-4
UPEI Panthers 3-4
Carleton Ravens 2-5
Winnipeg Wesmen 2-5

Men’s Semi-Final – Waterloo 8, Brock 5

Men’s Championship – Alberta 7, Waterloo 1

Gold – Alberta Golden Bears
Silver – Waterloo Warriors
Bronze – Brock Badgers

Women’s Final Standings

Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks 6-1
Manitoba Bisons 5-2
Alberta Pandas 4-3
Brock Badgers 4-3
Guelph Gryphons 3-4
Saint Mary’s Huskies 2-5
Western Mustangs 2-5
Memorial SeaHawks 2-5

Women’s Tiebreaker – Brock 6, Alberta 4

Women’s Semi-Final – Brock 8, Manitoba 3

Women’s Championship – Laurier 9, Brock 2

Gold – Laurier Golden Hawks
Silver – Brock Badgers
Bronze – Manitoba Bisons

Men’s CIS/CCA Champions

2011-12 – Alberta
2010-11 – Memorial
2009-10 – Queen’s
2008-09 – Regina
2007-08 – Laurier

Women’s CIS/CCA Champions

2011-12 – Laurier
2010-11 – Laurier
2009-10 – Regina
2008-09 – Laurier
2007-08 – Laurier