All-Star teams announced at 2013 Scotties Tournament of Hearts

The first and second All-Star teams at the 2013 Scotties Tournament of Hearts were announced, with Team Manitoba claiming three of the first-team awards.

Jill Officer, Dawn Askin and Kaitlyn Lawes of Team Manitoba (Photo CCA/Andrew Klaver)

For the third consecutive year, the first All-Star team includes lead Dawn Askin (89 per cent), third Kaitlyn Lawes (82 per cent) and Jennifer Jones at skip (86 per cent). Named first-team All-Star second was Ontario’s Alison Kreviazuk (84 per cent). Claiming her second consecutive award as second-team All-Star lead was Team Canada’s Laine Peters (84 per cent). Jill Officer (84 per cent) was named second-team All-Star second, after winning first-team honours in 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012. At third was B.C.’s Jeanna Schraeder (80 per cent), who was a second-team All-Star in 2010 and first-team All-Star in 2006 and 2007. Ontario’s Rachel Homan was named second-team All-Star skip (83 per cent). The two teams were selected solely on their statistics during round-robin play. Also announced were the winners of both the Marj Mitchell Sportsmanship and the Joan Mead Builder Awards. The Marj Mitchell Sportsmanship Award was presented to B.C.’s Sasha Carter, the second on Kelly Scott’s 2007 World women’s curling championship team, who is making her eighth appearance at the Scotties Tournament of Hearts. This cherished Award is selected by the curlers and is named in honour of the late Saskatchewan skip who won the first world women’s title for Canada in 1980. The award honours an individual who the competitors feel exemplifies the spirit of curling. The Joan Mead Builder Award was presented to Andrew Klaver, who has been the official photographer for the Scotties Tournament of Hearts for the past 23 years. Each year, this award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the growth and development of women’s curling in Canada. The Builders Award is named after Joan Mead, the late CBC producer who is credited with many innovative developments in curling broadcasting. The Sandra Schmirler Most Valuable Player award will be presented during closing ceremonies on Sunday, February 24, along with the Shot of the Week Award.