Championship round coming together

The scenarios for teams earning berths in the championship round at the 2014 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Liverpool, N.S., are a little clearer tonight though there are still potential tie-breaker games.In the men’s section, and regardless of the outcomes of tomorrow’s games, Manitoba’s Braden Calvert and New Brunswick’s Rene Comeau are both at 5-0 and will advance to the four-game championship round. At four wins against a single loss are Ontario’s Ryan McCrady, Alberta’s Carter Lautner and Nova Scotia’s Robert Mayhew. Each of these three teams will also advance. There are two teams with only two losses: Northern Ontario’s Tanner Horgan and Saskatchewan’s Tyler Hartung. Wins tomorrow by either or both teams will send them through. Losses by either could put them in regardless or could put them in tiebreakers. Tonight’s men’s scores were: Manitoba 10 Newfoundland & Labrador 5

(CCA Photo)

British Columbia 14 Northwest Territories 3 The scenario in the Women’s section  has four teams guaranteed to move on regardless of the outcomes tomorrow. They are: undefeated Kelsey Rocque of Alberta at 5-0; B.C.’s Kalia Van Osch, Ontario’s Molly Greenwood and Nova Scotia’s Mary Fay, each at 4-1.  All other teams with two or even three losses are each in the hunt for the final four spots. Tonight’s women’s scores were: Alberta 7 Saskatchewan 5 British Columbia 7 Northwest Territories 5 New Brunswick 9 Newfoundland & Labrador 4 Nova Scotia 9 Prince Edward Island 6 Manitoba 9 Northern Ontario 8 Quebec 10 Nunavut 4 Round-robin games are taking place at both Queens Place Emera Centre and the Liverpool Curling Club in the beautiful South Shore region of Nova Scotia. The teams have been seeded (based on last year’s results) into two seven-team pools for each gender and will first play a six-game round robin within each pool from Saturday through Tuesday. The top three teams in each pool, plus two teams with the next best won-lost records, then advance to the Championship Round for a further four-game partial round robin from Wednesday through Friday, with their earlier records carried forward. Once the top three teams for each gender have been determined, all playoff games will be played at Queens Place Emera Centre. The women’s final is Saturday, Jan. 25, while the men’s final is Sunday, Jan. 26. Both finals will be televised live on TSN/RDS2 at 4 p.m. AST/3 p.m. EST. For the second consecutive year, the competition format involves all 14 Member Associations of the Canadian Curling Association (10 provinces, plus Northern Ontario, Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon). The full scoreboard can be viewed at The leaderboard can be viewed at