All-stars, award winners announced at 2016 Canadian Juniors

STRATFORD, Ont. — The all-stars and other award winners at the 2016 Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, presented by Egg Farmers of Ontario, were announced on Friday at the awards banquet at the Stratford Rotary Complex.

ALL-STARS (determined by shooting percentages during the round robin)

Women First Team

Skip — Sarah Daniels, B.C. (81 per cent) Third — Marika Van Osch, B.C. (86 per cent) Second — Megan Moffat, Alberta (85 per cent) Lead — Sara Oliver, Manitoba (84 per cent)

(Click here for photo of the women’s first all-star team)

Second Team

Skip — Selena Sturmay, Alberta (80 per cent) Third — Kristin Clarke, Nova Scotia (85 per cent) Second — Melissa Gordon, Manitoba (84 per cent) Lead — Hope Sunley, Alberta (84 per cent)

(Click here for photo of the women’s second all-star team)


First Team Skip — Matt Dunstone (90 per cent) Third — Colton Lott, Manitoba (88 per cent) Second — Kyle Doering, Manitoba (89 per cent) Lead — Nick Neufeld, Saskatchewan (89 per cent)

(Click here for photo of the men’s first all-star team)

Second Team Skip — Tanner Horgan, Northern Ontario (89 per cent) Third — Jason Camm, Ontario (85 per cent) Second — Matthew Hall, Ontario (87 per cent) Lead — Curtis Easter, Ontario (87 per cent)

(Click here for photo of the men’s second all-star team)

* In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he/she outcurls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.


Women – Chloé McCloskey, Prince Edward Island Men – Arthur Siksik, Nunavut

(Click here for photo of the Ken Watson Sportsmanship Award winners, with Curling Canada Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors, Peter Inch)

BALANCE PLUS FAIR PLAY AWARDS (selected by the officials)

Men Lead — Rob Gordon, Manitoba Second  — Kyle Barron, Newfoundland/Labrador Third — Daniel Wenzek, B.C. Skip — Karsten Sturmay, Alberta Coach — Benoit Forget, Quebec

Women Lead — Aleya Quilty, Prince Edward Island Second — Dez Hawes, B.C. Third — Christianne West, Nunavut Skip — Courtney Auld, Ontario Coach — Michel St-Georges, Quebec

(Click here for photo of the Balance Plus Fair Play Award Winners)


Women – Michel St-Georges, Quebec Men – Benoit Forget, Quebec

(Click here for photo of the ASHAM National Coaching Award Winners, with Curling Canada Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors Peter Inch and Curling Canada coaching mentor Bill Tschirhart)

JOAN MEAD LEGACY AWARDS (selected by the event officials) ($500 scholarship)

Women – Gabby Molloy, Newfoundland/Labrador Men – Karsten Sturmay, Alberta

(Click here for photo of the Joan Mead Legacy Award Winners, with Curling Canada Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors, Peter Inch)