Championship Pool set at Senior Men

The first stage of play at the 2015 Everest Canadian Senior Men’s Curling Championship has been completed and the eight teams competing for the title have been identified. Fourteen men’s teams are competing at this Canadian Seniors. Unlike the previous three years, when a pre-qualifying event was held to determine which two teams of gender advanced to the main draw, this year’s renewal sees all the teams seeded into two pools per gender to first play a round robin within their pool. In men’s, the top four in each pool advance to the Championship Round for games against the teams from the opposite pool, while the bottom three in each pool advance to the Seeding Pool for games against teams from the opposite pool. Here are the top four teams from each pool and their records against the teams in their pool: Alberta (Glen Hansen) 2-1 Manitoba (Randy Neufeld) 2-1 Ontario (Jeff McCrady) 2-1 New Brunswick (Wayne Tallon) 2-1 Québec (Ted Butler) 2-1 Saskatchewan (Glen Despins) 1-2 Nova Scotia (Wayne Sangster) 1-2 British Columbia (Wes Craig) 0-3 The teams carry forward their record in games against the other three teams from their pool. Each team will play four more games against the teams form the opposite pool. Then, the best four records will advance to the playoffs where #1 will meet #4 and #2 will meet #3 in the semifinals.  The winners will play for the gold medal while the losers will play for bronze. The remaining three teams from each pool will play games against the other three teams to decide the rankings for seeds 9-14 for the 2016 Everest Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship in Digby, NS. These teams carry their full record forward Those teams are: Newfoundland & Labrador (Glenn Goss) 2-4 Northern Ontario (Al Hackner) 2-4 Prince Edward Island (Rod MacDonald) 2-4 Northwest Territories (Glen Hudy) 2-4 Yukon (Walter Wallingham) 1-5 Nunavut (Ed Sattelberger) 0-6