All Posts / Our News / Curling Canada announces award winners

Curling Canada announces award winners

Two significant behind-the-scenes contributors to the continued success and growth of curling have been recognized for their efforts, it was announced today by Curling Canada.


Harvey Lyons of Dugald, Man., has been named Curling Canada’s 2014 Volunteer of the Year, while Lynne Wilson of Saskatoon is the winner of the 2014 Curling Canada Award of Achievement.

Lyons played a major role in the revitalization of the Lorette Curling Club, putting together the Ice Improvement Program with the ambition of giving curlers a more positive on-ice experience. He worked closely with Curl Manitoba’s Chief Ice Technician Greg Ewasko on the project, with not only produced the desired results in conditions, but also sparked a growth in membership and enthusiasm at the club.

“The work Harvey did to not only help the sport of curling survive in Lorette, but also to grow, is representative of the thousands of volunteers across the country who make our sport so unique and special,” said Curling Canada Board of Governors Chair Marilyn Neily. “Too often, the work of volunteers is overlooked and taken for granted, but it can’t be stressed enough that it’s people like Harvey who are the lifeblood of curling, and his efforts in Lorette should be applauded.”

Lyons was honoured on the ice during the closing weekend in Calgary of the 2015 Tim Hortons Brier, presented by SecurTek Monitoring Solutions.

Former winners of the Curling Canada Volunteer of the Year award:

2013 — Jany Tanguay, Club de curling Kénogami, Jonquiere, Que.
2012 — Samantha Stouffer, Paris Curling Club, Ont.
2011 — Peter Waugh, Strait Area Community CC, Port Hawkesbury, N.S.
2010 — Brian Recksiedler, Morris CC, Man.
2009 — John Lavich, Brookdale CC, Man.
2008 — Ed Haggerty, Fredericton CC, N.B.
2007 — Not awarded
2006 — Tom Fry, Fort Frances CC, Ont.
2005 — Suzanne Bertrand, Whitehorse CC, Yukon
2004 — Delbert Comeau, Clare CC, Meteghan, N.S.
2003 — François Vary, St. Lambert CC, St. Lambert, Que.
2002 — Ellery Robichaud, Curling Beausejour Inc., Moncton, N.B.
2001 — Jake Lynka, Penticton CC, B.C.
2000 — Stuart Parrott, Beausejour CC, Man.

Other nominees for the award were Nancy Katerenchuk of Osoyoos, B.C., Tammy Graham of Delia, Alta., and the Peterborough, Ont., duo of Patty Macdonald and Audrey Davies.

“I am pleased to acknowledge Nancy Katerenchuk, Tammy Graham, Patty Macdonald and Audrey Davies,for their tireless efforts of volunteer work,” said Lena West, Chair of Curling Canada’s Awards and Hall of Fame Committee. “They shared their talent, dedication and commitment to improve their local curling community in so many ways. It is easy to see why volunteers are priceless!”

Wilson, meanwhile, was honoured for her longtime work to build the sport of curling in Saskatchewan.

The Curling Canada Award of Achievement, recognizes individuals who have contributed significantly to curling in one of four areas — builder, technical development (instructor, coach, official, ice technician), marketing and media.

In addition to being a competitive curler — she played vice-skip for Barb Despins’ 1979 Saskatchewan women’s championship team — Wilson has coached in the Learn to Curl program in Saskatoon.

Also, her work as a Builder is being acknowledged as she has chronicled the history of Saskatchewan curling dating back to 1948 through a memorabilia and scrapbook collection that has been 15 years in the making. Wilson travels with the collection to display it at CURLSASK events throughout the season.

“There is no doubt that Lynne Wilson’s contribution, as CURLSASK Historian, has made a difference in the sport of curling not only for the province of Saskatchewan, but also for all of the visitors who have had the opportunity to marvel at the unique curling memorabilia,” said West. “I believe that her exceptional talent will be appreciated for years to come. Well done!”

Former winners of the Curling Canada Award of Achievement:
2014 — Jack Bowman, B.C.
2013 — Pat Bibby, Saskatchewan
2012 — Linda Corcoran, Ontario
2012 — Bill Tschirhart, B.C.
2009-11 — Not awarded
2008 — Ron Meyers, Saskatchewan
2007 — Arnold Asham, Manitoba
2007 — Marilyn Barraclough, Alberta
2006 — Al Kersey, B.C.
2005 — Not awarded
2004 — Elmer Schmidt, Saskatchewan
2003 — Hans Wuthrich, Manitoba
2002 — Gene Friesen, Saskatchewan
2001 — Not awarded
2000 — Linda Moore, B.C.
1999 — Bill Robertson, B.C.
1999 — Wayne Kiel, Saskatchewan
1998 — André Ferland, Quebec
1997 — Arleen Day, Saskatchewan
1997 — Vic Rauter, Ontario
1996 — Robin Wilson, B.C.
1995 — Marcel DeWitte, Ontario
1995 — Shorty Jenkins, Ontario
1994 — Tom Coulterman, Ontario
1994 — Doug Maxwell, Ontario
1993 — Paul Sauvé, Ontario
1993 — Ralph Bagley, Manitoba
1992 — Ian Maclaine, Ontario
1992 — Keith Reilly, Ontario
1992 — Brian Cassidy, New Brunswick
1992 — Tom and Anne Fisher, Quebec
1991 — Bob Picken, Manitoba
1991 — Pat Fownes, New Brunswick