U-27 teams named!

(Photo, Curling Canada/Michael Burns)

Six teams earn spots in new Under-27 National NextGen Program

Curling Canada’s commitment to building pathways for up-and-coming teams took another step forward today with the announcement of the first six teams that will be part of the Under-27 National NextGen Program.

Two women’s, two men’s and two mixed doubles teams have been determined after Curling Canada opened the application process last month as part of its unveiling of a new National NextGen program.

The six teams will spend two years in the program (assuming they maintain their lineups and meet training and performing standards), with funding and support contingent on meeting performance standards and expectations. Coaches will play a pivotal role, guiding teams through training and providing mentorship.

The selected teams had to qualify to apply by finishing within the top 15 of the 2023-24 Canadian Team Ranking System or the Canadian Mixed Doubles Rankings in addition to meeting age requirements (cumulative age of 108 years or less for four-player teams, or 54 years for mixed doubles teams, as of June 30).

Here are the teams that will comprise Curling Canada’s U-27 National NextGen program this coming season (four-player teams listed in order of skip, vice-skip, second, lead and coach, and hometown):


  • Team Kate Cameron (Taylor McDonald, Brianna Cullen, Mackenzie Elias, Gerry Peckham; Winnipeg)
  • Team Serena Gray-Withers (Catherine Clifford, Lindsey Burgess, Zoe Cinnamon, Rob Krepps; Edmonton)


  • Team Rylan Kleiter (Joshua Mattern, Matthew Hall, Trevor Johnson, Dean Kleiter; Saskatoon)
  • Team Sam Mooibroek (Ryan Wiebe, Scott Mitchell, Nathan Steele; Whitby, Ont.)


  • Team Papley/Van Amsterdam (Paige Papley, Evan Van Amsterdam, Amanda St. Laurent; Edmonton
  • Team Zheng/Pietrangelo (Jessica Zheng, Victor Pietrangelo, Stephen Fish; Niagara Falls, Ont.)

Curling Canada