Curling Canada – 2014 Tim Hortons Brier
Presented by SecurTek

How the west will be won

The process of determining the four western teams that will compete in the Canadian men’s curling championship – the 2014 Tim Hortons Brier, March 1-9 in Kamloops – begins Jan. 29 in Shaunavon, Sask.

Brock Virtue will be back to defend his Saskatchewan title, along with several others that have worn Saskatchewan colours in past years: including Joel Jordison, Bruce Korte, Scott Manners, Steve Laycock and Scott Bitz.

The Alberta provincial playdowns will take place Feb. 5-9 in Lacombe with the field headed up by Kevin Martin and Kevin Koe, two of the heavyweights on Canada’s competitive curling circuit. The Olympic gold-medallist in 2010, Martin will be looking for a 13th trip to the national championship where he has won the Tankard four times. Koe is a two-time representative for Alberta at the Tim Hortons Brier, claiming both the Tankard and world gold medal in 2010.

Kevin Martin (Photo CCA/Michael Burns)

Kevin Martin (Photo CCA/Michael Burns)

The home-province team will be crowned at the British Columbia playdowns, Feb. 5-9 in Vancouver. The 2013 B.C. champs, skipped by Andrew Bileski, will face a stiff challenge from John Morris who has Kamloops native Jim Cotter throwing fourth stones. The Morris team came within one win of a trip to Sochi, bowing out to Brad Jacobs in the final of the 2013 Tim Hortons Roar of the Rings Canadian Curling Trials.

The Yukon/Northwest Territories will be on the ice Feb. 6-9 in Whitehorse where veteran Jamie Koe will be bidding for an eighth appearance at the Tim Hortons Brier. Koe has represented the Territories for the past five consecutive years.

“You Gotta Be There” in Kamloops’ Interior Savings Centre for all the excitement of the 2014 Tim Hortons Brier. The best seats in the house are available now by clicking here.