Award winners announced at Canadian Mixed Championship

Amélie Blais had a pretty wonderful day in Saguenay, Que., on Saturday.

In addition to helping Quebec win its first Canadian Mixed Curling Championship since 2001, Blais — the vice-skip for Jean-Sébastien Roy’s Quebec team — won a Sportsmanship award at the closing banquet of the 2020 Canadian Mixed Championship in Saguenay.

The men’s and women’s MVP awards were decided after a vote among the event umpires, while the Sportsmanship Awards were determined through a vote of participating players.

New Brunswick second Marc Lecocq was named the men’s MVP, while Ontario vice-skip Kim Tuck was the women’s MVP.

The other Sportsmanship winners were Yukon skip Thomas Scoffin, Northern Ontario second Gavan Jamieson and Newfoundland/Labrador lead Brooke Godsland.