Ford Hot Shots competition returns for 20th year

For the 20th consecutive year, the country’s top curlers will show off their shot-making skills in the Ford Hot Shots skills competition, at both the Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Montreal and the Tim Hortons Brier in Kamloops, B.C. Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.19.53 AMThe annual competition will feature competitors attempting six different shots: Hit and Stay, Draw the Button, Draw the Port, The Raise, Hit and Roll and Double Takeout. Each shot is awarded points on a scale from 0-5 depending on the end result of the shot. Ford of Canada will provide the winner after four rounds of competition (preliminary, quarter-finals, semifinals, final) at both the Scotties and Brier with a two-year lease on a 2014 Ford Fusion 2.0L AWD with EcoBoost, an approximate retail value of $15,304. With its athletic lines and sleek silhouette, the 2014 Ford Fusion conveys a sense of precision and agility. The 2.0L, turbocharged, direct injection EcoBoost engine will enhance your driving experience and provide you with maximum power and efficiency with each drop of fuel. The Ford Fusion allows you to stay connected with the world and your car. SYNC with MyFord Touch integrates your vehicle with your digital world while keeping your hands on the steering wheel and eyes on the road. The second-place finisher will be presented with a cheque for $2,000, while the third-place finisher receives $1,000. At the Scotties, the Ford Hot Shots preliminary round will begin at 1 p.m. (EST) on Friday, Jan. 31. The playoffs (Final Eight, Final Four, Final) begin at noon on Saturday, Feb. 1, following the Opening Ceremonies. At the Brier, the Ford Hot Shots preliminary round will begin at 1 p.m. (PST) on Friday, Feb. 28. The playoffs (Final Eight, Final Four, Final) begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, March 1, following the Opening Ceremonies. Since 1995, the Ford Hot Shots event has provided not only an exciting beginning to each championship but has proven to be an extremely popular competition for curlers and fans. Previous Ford Hot Shots winners at the Hearts are the Territories’ Kelli Turpin and Kerry Galusha, British Columbia’s Sherry Fraser, Kelley Law (twice) and Kristy Lewis, Alberta’s Marcy Balderston and Cheryl Bernard, Saskatchewan’s Kay Montgomery, Manitoba’s Gerri Cooke and Jill Officer, Ontario’s Andrea Lawes and Jenn Hanna, New Brunswick’s Allison Farrell (Franey), Prince Edward Island’s Suzanne Birt (Gaudet), Nova Scotia’s Colleen Jones, Saskatchewan’s Amber Holland, Team Canada’s Jennifer Jones of Manitoba and last year’s winner, Rachel Homan of Ontario. Past winners at the Brier have been Greg McAulay and Pat Ryan of British Columbia, Alberta’s Don Bartlett, Randy Ferbey and John Morris, Saskatchewan’s Steve Laycock, Manitoba’s Steve Gould (twice), Northern Ontario’s Mike Coulter, Ontario’s Ed Werenich, Craig Savill and Richard Hart, New Brunswick’s Rick Perron, Jeff Lacey and Marc LeCocq, Newfoundland and Labrador’s Mark Nichols, Ontario’s Glenn Howard and Wayne Middaugh, and last year’s winner, Marc Kennedy of Alberta. -30- Warren Hansen Director, Event Operations Canadian Curling Association 604-329-9850 [email protected]