Memorial Seahawks men and Laurentian Voyageurs women win gold at university championships

Memorial University’s Adam Boland kept the Newfoundland & Labrador magical curling ride going this afternoon winning the 2017 USPORTS / Curling Canada University Men’s Championship at the Fort William CC in Thunder Bay, Ont. Certainly inspired by the Brad Gushue victory ten days ago, Boland’s Sea-Hawks foursome of Stephen Trickett, Zach Young and Evan Kearly, with coach Gary Ryan, ran the table winning nine consecutive games ending with an 8-4 win over Alberta’s Thomas Scoffin in the gold medal game. The turning point came in the sixth end when Boland, behind 2-1, scored three to lead by two. After forcing Alberta to a single in the seventh, the St. John’s-based team cracked a four ender effectively ending it. Scoffin score a singleton in the ninth then conceded.

Memorial University: Gold medallists. Skip: Adam Boland, Third: Stephen Trickett, Second: Zach Young, Lead: Evan Kearley, Coach: Gary Ryan (Usport/Curling Canada photo)

This is the second victory for Memorial in university play as Colin Thomas captured the 2011 title as the home team that season. It was a productive day for Atlantic teams on the men’s side as UPEI Panther’s Chris Gallant edged Regina Cougars and skip Sam Wills 7-6 to win the bronze medal. Gallant’s crew of Kyle Holland, Brooks Roche, Kyle McFadyen and coach Larry Rathje scored the go-ahead deuce in the eighth followed up with a force in the ninth to lead by one coming home which is how it ended. On the women’s side, Krysta Burns, Megan Smith, Sara Guy, Laura Masters and coach Ryan Lafraniere of the Laurentian Voyageurs capped a very successful curling season winning Laurentian’s first USPORT / Curling Canada gold medal for the Sudbury foursome. This gold medal hangs beside a bronze medal earned at the 2017 Canadian Juniors this past January in Victoria. Their win came at the expense of hometown favourite Hayley Beaudry of the Lakehead Thunderwolves with the final score 7-4. The game was tied at two playing the 5th end when, with last rock advantage, Burns scored three points taking control of the game. Beaudry responded with a deuce to tighten the score at 5-4. The 8th was blanked. Burns put the game away in the 9th drawing for two then running Lakehead out of stones.

Laurentian University: gold medallists. Skip: Krysta Burns, Third: Megan Smith, Second: Sara Guy, Lead: Laura Masters, Coach: Ryan Lafraniere (Usports/Curling Canada photo)

Alberta Panda’s Kristen Streifel overcame the disappointment of the semi final loss this morning to Lakehead, rebounding nicely with a 9-2 win over Dalhousie and Tigers skip Kristin Clarke, earning the bronze medal. Streifel’s team of Danielle Schmiemann, Kate Goodhelpsen, Jesse Iles, Chantelle Broderson and coach Garry Coderre stole three points in ends 5-8 to seal the deal. Medal Winners….. Gold- LAURENTIAN VOYAGEURS Skip: Krysta Burns Third: Megan Smith Second: Sara Guy Lead: Laura Masters Coach: Ryan Lafraniere Silver – LAKEHEAD THUNDERWOLVES Skip: Hailey Beaudry Third: Kendra Lemieux Second: Emily Cooney Lead: Erin Tomalty Alternate: Sheree Hinz Coach: Dick Henderson Bronze – ALBERTA PANDAS Skip: Kristen Streifel Third: Danielle Schmiemann Second: Kate Goodhelpsen Lead: Jesse Iles Alternate: Chantele Broderson Coach: Garry Coderre Gold – MEMORIAL SEAHAWKS Skip: Adam Boland Third: Stephen Trickett Second: Zach Young Lead: Evan Kearley Coach: Gary Ryan Silver – ALBERTA GOLDEN BEARS Skip: Thomas Scoffin Third: Karsten Sturmay Second: Tristan Steinke Lead: Caleb Boorse Alternate: Christopher Kennedy Coach: Rob Krepps Bronze – UPEI PANTHERS Skip: Christopher Gallant Third: Kyle Holland Second: Brooks Roche Lead: Alex MacFadyen Coach: Larry Rathje ALL CANADIANS Second Team Women – LEAD: Lauren Chase (Dalhousie Tigers) – SECOND: Hayley Unrau (Regina Cougars) – THIRD: Nicole Titkai (Ryerson Rams) – SKIP: Kristin Clarke (Dalhousie Tigers) Second Team Men – LEAD: Evan Kearley (Memorial Sea-Hawks) – SECOND: Michael Brophy (Dalhousie Tigers) – THIRD: Matthew Manuel (Dalhousie Tigers) – SKIP: Adam Boland (Memorial Sea-Hawks) FIRST Team Women – LEAD: Jesse Iles (Alberta Pandas) – SECOND: Kate Goodhelpsen (Alberta Pandas) – THIRD: Danielle Schmiemann (Alberta Pandas) – SKIP: Kristen Streifel (Alberta Pandas) FIRST Team Men – LEAD: Caleb Boorse (Alberta Golden Bears) – SECOND: Zach Young (Memorial Sea-Hawks) – THIRD: Stephen Trickett (Memorial Sea-Hawks) – SKIP: Wes Forget (Queen’s Gaels) National Coaching Award For coach of Women’s team Winner: Garry Coderre (Alberta Pandas) National Coaching Award For coach of Men’s team Winner: John Newhook (Dalhousie Tigers) R.W PUGH FAIR PLAY AND SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD Men Winner: Alex Cormier (Queen’s Gaels) Women Winner: Emma Logan (St. Francis Xavier X-Women