Award winners and all-stars announced at Scotties Tournament of Hearts

SYDNEY, N.S. A current player and long-time media member were honoured at the Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Sydney, N.S.

The First and Second Team All-Star teams were also announced.

Team Northern Ontario lead Sarah Potts wins the Marj Mitchel sportsmanship award. Presented by Oliver Bukvic of Kruger Products with Curling Canada governor Angela Hodgson. (Photo, Curling Canada/Andrew Klaver)

The Marj Mitchell Sportsmanship Award was presented to Northern Ontario lead Sarah Potts. The cherished award is voted on by the curlers and is named in honour of the late Saskatchewan skip who won the first world women’s title for Canada in 1980. The award honours an individual who the competitors feel exemplifies the spirit of curling. It’s the first time Potts has been recognized by her peers for this special award.

Newfoundland and Labrador coach Leslie Ann Walsh won the Joan Mead Award, presented by Oliver Bukvic of Kruger Products, for her contributions to the sport in her home province. (Photo, Curling Canada/Andrew Klaver)

At the start of the week, Newfoundland and Labrador coach Leslie Ann Walsh was also presented with the Joan Mead Award for her contributions to curling as a coach and her contributions to the growth of the sport in her province. Walsh has provided significant contributions to the sport of wheelchair curling, as well as a long-time coach for the popular Whitecamp Curling Camp in Atlantic Canada.

Andrew Klaver won the TSN Paul McLean Award, presented by TSN’s Bryan Mudryk. (Photo, Canadian Press/Andrew Vaughan)

Scotties Tournament of Hearts photographer Andrew Klaver received the TSN Paul McLean Award. The award is named in honour of the TSN producer of curling, CFL football and world junior hockey who died of cancer at the age of 39 in 2005. The award is presented to a media person behind the scenes who has made a significant contribution to the sport of curling. Klaver has been the official Scotties Tournament of Hearts photographer since 2000. His work has been featured in publications form coast-to-coast, providing iconic images of the Scotties that will last forever.

All-stars (Determined by shooting percentages during pool play)

From left, skip Rachel Homan (Ontario), third Emma Miskew (Ontario), second Jennifer Gates (Northern Ontario) and lead Dawn McEwen (Canada) were named First Team All-stars at the 2019 Scotties Tournament of Hearts. (Photo, Curling Canada/Andrew Klaver)

First team Skip – Rachel Homan, Ontario Third – Emma Miskew, Ontario Second – Jennifer Gates, Northern Ontario Lead – Dawn McEwen, Canada

From left, skip Krista McCarville (Northern Ontario), third Kendra Lilly (Northern Ontario), second Joanne Courtney (Ontario) and lead Sarah Potts (Northern Ontario) were named Second Team All-stars at the 2019 Scotties Tournament of Hearts. (Photo, Curling Canada/Andrew Klaver)

Second team Skip – Krista McCarville, Northern Ontario Third – Kendra Lilly, Northern Ontario Second – Joanne Courtney, Ontario Lead – Sarah Potts, Northern Ontario

* In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he/she out-curls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.