2022 scholarships awarded!

The 2022 For the Love of Curling Scholarship recipients, from top left, clockwise: Sean Beland, Brianna Cullen, Emily Deschenes, Jackson Dubinsky, Cate Fitzgerald, Rachel Jacques, Cassie Rogers, Carter Parenteau, Emma Nagel, Kibo Mulima, Isabelle Ladouceur. (Photos supplied)

Curling Canada announces recipients of 2022 For the Love of Curling Scholarship program

The newest selection of For the Love of Curling scholarship recipients is making strides in all aspects of the sport, from able-bodied curling to wheelchair curling, while also setting ambitious goals to grow the sport at the grassroots and high-performance levels.

The scholarship program received 71 submissions and was narrowed to 11 recipients by a seven-person selection panel. Each recipient will receive a $2,500 scholarship.

Of those recipients, the Governor General’s Curling Club – an honourary society under the patronage of the Governor General since 1874 – selected one deserving applicant to receive a scholarship financially supported by donations from its members worth $2,500.

“This year’s scholars are showcasing their incredible qualities and telling new stories about curling and what it means to be a curler in Canada. From performing at high levels of the sport to being beacons of change for more inclusive and welcoming curling communities, all 11 recipients are improving the game with their involvement,” said Curling Canada CEO and selection panel member Katherine Henderson. “These are deserving recipients who amplify the values of sportsmanship, community and integrity. Our sport is in good hands with these future leaders of the game.”

The 2022-23 scholarship recipients are:

  • Sean Beland – Upper Tantallon, N.S. – Engineering – University of New Brunswick
  • Brianna Cullen – Oakbank, Man. – Bachelor of Kinesiology, Sports Performance Major – University of Alberta
  • Emily Deschenes – Greely, Ont. – Business Administration – Algonquin College
  • Jackson Dubinsky – Thunder Bay, Ont. – Concurrent Education Math & Science – Lakehead University
  • Rachel Jacques – Edmonton – Kinesiology, Sport and Recreation – University of Alberta
  • Isabelle Ladouceur – Bedford, N.S. – Psychology & Neuroscience – Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Kibo Mulima – Inverary, Ont. – Communications Studies & French Studies (Double Major) – Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Emma Nagel – Leduc, Alta. – Child and Youth Care – Lakeland College
  • Carter Parenteau – Spiritwood, Sask. – SUNTEP/Education (Saskatchewan Urban Native Teacher Education Program) – University of Saskatchewan
  • Cassie Rogers – Yellowknife, N.W.T. – Honours Environmental Engineering, Co-op – University of Waterloo

The additional For the Love of Curling Scholarship, presented by the Governor General’s Curling Club, is awarded to Cate Fitzgerald of Halifax (Bachelor of Health Science in Respiratory Therapy at Dalhousie University).

“We are honoured to present Cate with a scholarship of $2,500 to further support her educational goals, along with her aspirations to be a future leader in our sport. Cate is preparing for an exciting season after winning the Canadian junior women’s curling championship. Her team aims to qualify Canada for the upcoming world junior championship, and this scholarship will help balance her on-ice aspirations of making Canada proud with her educational pursuits,” said Governor General’s Curling Club President Graham Harris. “These funds, raised by donations from our membership, are aimed to support the development of young curlers, and Cate is a shining example of someone we are thrilled to support.”

Fitzgerald will be honoured by the Governor General’s Curling Club at its annual general meeting and dinner on Sept. 12.

The 2022-23 scholars have a variety of experiences at all levels of the sport. Deschenes will represent Team Canada with Fitzgerald at the World Junior-B Curling Championships with the ultimate goal of qualifying the Canadian women’s team for the 2023 World Junior Curling Championships in Fuessen, Germany.

Nagel is also making history with the For the Love of Curling scholarship program, being the first wheelchair curler to receive the scholarship since the program’s start in the 2013-14 season. 

All applicants were required to demonstrate excellence on the ice, volunteer leadership in the community and share a personal essay about how curling and the sport’s community have impacted the person they are today.

In addition to Henderson, the selection panel included previous scholarship recipients Nathan Young (2020), Lauren Rajala (2020) and Johnson Tao (2021), along with Wil Thurlow of the Governor General’s Curling Club, Curling Canada governor Donna Krotz and Maureen Miller of the Women Curling Leaders’ Circle. 

The Curling Canada philanthropic program, introduced during the 2013-14 season to help develop and grow youth and junior curling across Canada, received donations totalling more than $400,000 last season. Programs such as The Egg Farmers Rocks & Rings presented by Curling Canada, Hit Draw Tap presented by Tim Hortons and For the Love of Curling scholarships are only made possible thanks to the generous support of Canada’s curling community.

Curling Canada