All-stars, award winners announced at M&M Meat Shops Canadian Juniors

Friday, 8 February 2013 - Posted by Al Cameron

The all-stars and other award winners at the 2013 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships were announced on Friday at the awards banquet at MacDonald Island Park in Fort McMurray.

Photo, courtesy LuLu Photography

(determined by shooting percentages during the round robin)

First Team (click for photo, l to r)
— Corryn Brown, British Columbia (74 per cent) *

Third — Chelsea Duncan, Yukon (77 per cent)
Second — Sheyna Andries, Manitoba (74 per cent) *
Lead — Katie Roskewich, Alberta (78 per cent)

Second Team (click for photo, l to r)
— Sarah Koltun, Yukon (74 per cent)
Third — Holly Donaldson, Ontario (71 per cent)
Second — Megan Westlund, Northern Ontario (74 per cent)
Lead — Katie Fullerton, Prince Edward Island (77 per cent)

First Team (click for photo, l to r)
Skip — Thomas Scoffin, Alberta (78 per cent)
Third — Colton Lott, Manitoba (79 per cent)
Second — David Easter, Ontario (82 per cent)
Lead — Andrew O’Dell, New Brunswick (82 per cent)

Second Team (click for photo, l to r)
Skip — Stuart Thompson, Nova Scotia (76 per cent)

Third — Aaron Squires, Ontario (77 per cent)
Second — Daniel Grant, Manitoba (81 per cent)
Lead — Brendan MacCuish, Manitoba (80 per cent)
* In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he/she outcurls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.

Ken Watson Sportsmanship Awards
(voted by the players)

(Click for photo)
– Sheree Hinz, Northern Ontario
Men – Landon Bucholz, Alberta

Fair Play Awards
(selected by the officials)

(Click for photo)

Lead — Andrew Taylor, Newfoundland/Labrador

Second  — Sanjay Bowry, British Columbia

Third — Jamie Airut, Nunavut
Skip — Will Mahoney, Yukon
Coach — Benoit Forget, Quebec

Lead — Sydney Fraser, British Columbia

Second — Teresa Waterfield, Saskatchewan
Third — Sheree Hinz, Northern Ontario
Skip — Sadie Pinksen, Nunavut
Coach — Lynn Kreviazuk, Nunavut

ASHAM National Coaching Awards
(voted by the coaches)

(Click for photo, with coaching mentor Bill Tschirhart)
– Mark Noseworthy, Newfoundland/Labrador
Men – Tim Warkentin, Northern Ontario

Joan Mead Legacy Awards
(selected by the event officials)

($500 scholarship)

(Click for photo)
– Tirzah Keffer, Northern Ontario
Men – Jonathan Schut, Prince Edward Island

Latest Videos from the Juniors


Latest Photos from the Juniors

Click here to go to our Flickr Galleries