Canadian Curling Association announces three future event sites

The Canadian Curling Association (CCA) today announced the sites for three national championships for the 2010-2011 season. The 2011 Canadian Mixed will take place at the Morris Curling Club in Morris, Manitoba, November 20-27, 2010, under the direction of co-chairs Resby Coutts and Brenda Recksiedler. Manitoba has won eight Mixed titles (Alberta leads with nine) since the championship began in 1964 in Toronto, including a victory last November by Winnipeg skip Sean Grassie, when the 2009 Mixed was staged in Iqaluit, Nunavut. The province has hosted four previous Canadian Mixed championships, the last in 1989 in Brandon, when won by Prince Edward Island’s Robert Campbell. Other sites were in 1968 in St. Boniface, 1974 and 1981 in Winnipeg. The 2011 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships will return to Calgary, Alberta, January 29-February 6, with round robin play at both the North Hill Community Curling Club and The Glencoe Club.   The co-chairs are Jim Dang and Louise Sheeran. Alberta has won a leading 15 Canadian junior men’s titles, the last by Charley Thomas in 2007, since 1950, when the championship began in Québec City, and five junior women’s crowns, the last by Heather Nedohin (Godberson) in 1996, since the first event in 1971 in Vancouver.   The men’s and women’s championships were contested separately until being combined, beginning in 1987 in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan. Alberta has previously hosted six junior men’s and five junior women’s championships, the last in Calgary in 1998, when won by Ontario’s John Morris and New Brunswick’s Melissa McClure. The 2011 Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships will be held in Digby, Nova Scotia, March 19-26, at both the Digby Curling Club and Digby and Area Arena.   The championships will be chaired by Bob Powell. Nova Scotia has staged three previous Canadian Seniors championships, all in Halifax – the 1971 men’s and the 1974 and 1984 women’s.  The province has yet to win a Canadian senior men’s title, but has now taken three Canadian senior women’s championships, two by skip Verda Kempton, in 1982 and 1987, and this year’s renewal by skip Colleen Pinkney of Truro, who captured the 2009 championship in Summerside, Prince Edward Island last month. Meanwhile, the Canadian/world championships previously announced for the 2009-2010 season are: Canadian Mixed, November 15-22 in Burlington, ON; M&M Meat Shops Canadian Juniors, January 16-24 in Sorel-Tracy, QC; Scotties Tournament of Hearts, January 30-February 7 in Sault Ste. Marie, ON; Tim Hortons Brier, March 6-14 in Halifax, NS; Ford World Women’s, March 20-28 in Swift Current, SK, World Men’s, April 3-11 in Cortina d’Ampezzo, Italy, World Mixed Doubles and World Seniors, April 16-24 in Chelyabinsk, Russia. The sites for the 2010 Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, Canadian Interuniversity Sport/CCA Championships and the Canadian Wheelchair Championship will be announced by May 1. Other curling events in Canada next season include the pre-Trials competition in Prince George, BC, November 10-14; the Tim Hortons Canadian Curling Trials, December 6-13 in Edmonton, which will determine Canada’s representatives for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, where the curling competition takes place from February 16-27, followed by the Paralympic Games, March 12-21, also in Vancouver. -30-