Canadian Curling Association finalizes 2009-2010 season

OTTAWA, May 20, 2009…The Canadian Curling Association (CCA) today announced the sites of the three remaining national championships for the 2009-2010 season. The 2010 Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships will take place in Ottawa, March 20-28 at the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club.   The winners of the 2010 Canadian Seniors will represent Canada at the 2011 World Seniors, at a site and date to be announced. The Canadian Seniors were last held in Ontario in 2002 in St. Thomas.  Ottawa has twice previously hosted the Seniors.  It staged the inaugural Canadian senior women’s championship in 1973 and the men’s event in 1976, when the championships were conducted separately, prior to being combined, starting in 1985 in Yorkton, Saskatchewan. Manitoba and Ontario have each won 10 Canadian senior men’s titles since the championship began in 1965 in Port Arthur, while Ontario has also won a leading 10 women’s crowns since 1973.   Ontario (Bruce Delaney of Ottawa) and Nova Scotia (Colleen Pinkney of Truro) won the 2009 Canadian Seniors in Summerside, Prince Edward Island and will now represent Canada at the 2010 World Seniors in Chelyabinsk, Russia. The 2008 Canadian Senior champions, Eugene Hritzuk of Saskatchewan and Pat Sanders of British Columbia, recently won gold medals at the 2009 World Seniors in New Zealand. The 2010 CIS/CCA University Curling Championships, presented by The Dominion, will take place at the Saville Sports Centre in Edmonton, March 10-14.   The winners will then represent Canada at the 2011 Winter Universiade (World University Games), January 27-February 6 in Erzurum, Turkey. Last season, the CIS (Canadian Interuniversity Sport)/CCA championships were held in Montreal and won by teams from the University of Regina (skip Chris Busby) and Wilfrid Laurier University (skip Hollie Nicol), who will now represent Canada at the 2010 Karuizawa Invitational in Japan next February. The 2010 TSX Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship will be held March 16-21 at the Kelowna Curling Club in Kelowna, British Columbia.  Last season’s championship was contested in Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia in March and won by British Columbia (skip Jim Armstrong) for a third consecutive year.  Armstrong, a former Brier competitor, had also previously skipped Canada to victory at the 2009 World Wheelchair Championship in Vancouver in February. Previously announced Canadian/world championships for the 2009-2010 season include the Canadian Mixed, November 14-21 in Burlington, Ontario; M&M Meat Shops Canadian Juniors, January 16-24 in Sorel-Tracy, Quebec; Scotties Tournament of Hearts, January 30-February 7 in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario; Tim Hortons Brier, March 6-14 in Halifax, Nova Scotia; World Juniors, March 6-14 in Flims, Switzerland; Ford World Women’s, March 20-28 in Swift Current, Saskatchewan; Canadian Masters, March 28-April 4 in Saint John, New Brunswick; World Men’s, April 3-11 in Cortina d’Ampezzo, Italy; World Mixed Doubles and World Seniors, April 16-24 in Chelyabinsk, Russia. Other major curling events in Canada next season are the pre-Trials (Road to the Roar) in Prince George, British Columbia, November 10-14 and the Tim Hortons Canadian Curling Trials (Roar of the Rings), December 6-13 in Edmonton, which will determine Canada’s representatives for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, where the curling competition takes place from February 16-27, followed by the Paralympic Games, March 12-21, also in Vancouver at the Olympic Centre. For further information: Danny Lamoureux Director, Championship Services & Curling Club Development Canadian Curling Association 1-866-761-2875 (toll free cell) 1-613-834-2076 (from outside Canada) skype: dlamoureux1959 [email protected] 2010 CIS/CCA University Curling Championships March 10-14, Saville Sports Centre Edmonton, Alberta Rob Krepps Curling Manager Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation, University of Alberta 780.492.2222 ext 229 [email protected] 2010 TSX Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship March 16-21, Kelowna Curling Club Kelowna, British Columbia Co-Chair: Donna Stuike 250.763.8347 [email protected] Co-Chair: Gerry Austgarden 250.768.0751 [email protected] 2010 Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships March 20-28, Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club Ottawa, Ontario Theo Mayer General Manager 613-736-4082 [email protected] Co-Chair: Carol Lawless – [email protected] Co-Chair: Fred Johns – [email protected]