All Posts / Our Championships / Countdown to the 2010 Tim Hortons Brier begins

Countdown to the 2010 Tim Hortons Brier begins

The countdown to the 2010 Tim Hortons Brier, presented by Monsanto, begins today, as two of the 12 men’s provincial/territorial championships get underway in Ontario and British Columbia.

By February 14, all the teams, representing the 10 provinces plus Northern Ontario and Yukon/Northwest Territories, for the 81st edition of the Canadian men’s curling championship, March 6-14 at the Metro Centre in Halifax will be determined.

This marks the sixth year of Brier title sponsorship by Tim Hortons, the largest quick service restaurant chain in Canada.   Halifax, which will be staging its sixth Brier, last hosted the championship in 2003, when it was won by Alberta’s Randy Ferbey, who then went on to capture the Ford world men’s title in Winnipeg that year.

The Canadian Curling Association website ( or will provide summaries of each championship as the winners are declared.  Provincial curling association/federation websites offer links to draw results and other event information.

Date/Province or Terr/Location/Website (www.)

Feb. 1-7
British Columbia
Vernon Curling Club, Vernon

Feb. 1-7
Strathcona Paper Centre, Napanee

Feb. 2-7
Newfoundland & Labrador
Bally Haly Golf & Curling Club, St. John’s

Feb. 3-7
Olds Arena, Olds

Feb. 3-7
New Brunswick
Curling Beauséjour, Moncton

Feb. 3-7
Nova Scotia
Mayflower Curling Club, Halifax

Feb. 4-7
Prince Edward Island
Western Community Curling Club, Alberton

Feb. 4-7
Whitehorse Curling Club, Whitehorse

Feb. 7-14
Aréna de Grand-Mère, Shawinigan

Feb. 8-14
Northern Ontario
Sudbury Curling Club, Sudbury

Feb. 10-14
Lumsden Sports Centre, Lumsden

Feb. 10-14
T.G. Smith Arena, Steinbach