Canadian Wheelchair Curling Team honoured in Ottawa

This past weekend, the Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) hosted its first-ever Awards Ceremony to celebrate the heroes of the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games. Four prestigious awards were presented to the Canadian athletes who excelled at the Games, one of which was the Canadian Wheelchair Curling Team for “Best Team Award”. The Canadian Wheelchair Curling Team was selected as the winner of the Best Team Award for winning Canada’s second consecutive gold medal in the sport. This incredible team was comprised of five Paralympic athletes: Sonja Gaudet, Darryl Neighbour, Jim Armstrong, Ina Forest, and Bruno Yizek. “These athletes made the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games a significant moment in Canadian sport history and reaffirmed to the world that Team Canada is a strong competitor,” said Henry Storgaard, Chief Executive Officer for the CPC. “I am so pleased we could honour them here today and give them the recognition they deserve for their incredible accomplishments. By their excellence, they have raised the profile of the Paralympic Movement and have inspired a whole nation.” The recipients for the four Athlete Awards were selected by the Flag Bearer Committee for the Vancouver 2010 Winter Paralympic Games as the official Canadian nominees for the International Paralympic Committee’s Vancouver 2010 Winter Paralympic Games Awards. This is the first time CPC has developed its own awards to recognize the athletes at the national level. To read more about the CPC’s Award Ceremony, click here. Reprinted with permission from the Canadian Paralympic Committee.