All Posts / Our Championships / Canadian Mixed gets underway Saturday in Morris, Manitoba

Canadian Mixed gets underway Saturday in Morris, Manitoba

The 2011 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship begins Saturday at the Southern Manitoba Convention Centre in Morris, as 12 teams, representing the 10 provinces plus Northern Ontario and Northwest Territories/Yukon, vie for the national title.

The week long round robin competition gets underway with a single draw on Saturday evening, followed by three draws daily, Sunday through Thursday.   After the final draw of the round robin on Friday morning, the first place team advances directly to Saturday’s final, while the second and third place teams meet in a semi-final following any required tiebreakers.

Alberta leads all provinces with nine Mixed titles since the championship began in 1964 in Toronto.  Manitoba has won eight Mixed crowns, the latest by Winnipeg’s Sean Grassie two years ago when The Mixed was staged in Iqaluit, Nunavut.  This year, Manitoba is represented by veteran skip Terry McNamee of Hamiota, making his fourth Mixed appearance.  He’s finished third twice.

The province has hosted four previous Canadian Mixed championships, the last in 1989 in Brandon, when won by Prince Edward Island’s Robert Campbell, who will once again represent his province this year.  Other sites were in 1968 in St. Boniface, 1974 and 1981 in Winnipeg. With a population of under 2,000 people, Morris is the smallest community ever selected to host a Canadian Curling Association national championship.

In addition to Campbell, other skips with Brier experience include New Brunswick’s Charlie Sullivan, Nova Scotia’s Paul Flemming and Northwest Territories/Yukon’s Steve Moss.  Last year in Burlington, Ontario, Nova Scotia’s Mark Dacey won the 2010 edition of the Canadian Mixed.

Two players from the winning team will then represent Canada at the World Mixed Doubles Championship, slated for April 15-24 in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Attached is the roster and official draw.   For up-to-the-minute draw results of this 48th Canadian Mixed, visit the Canadian Curling Association website <> .

For media inquiries during the championship or for accreditation information, please contact
Keith Rempel ([email protected] <[email protected]> ) at 204 -290-6276 or the Morris Curling Club (204-746-2271).

2011 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship
November 13-20, 2010
Southern Manitoba Convention Centre (Morris Curling Club), Morris, Manitoba

(Teams listed in order of skip, third, second and lead, unless otherwise noted)

Alberta – Medicine Hat CC, Medicine Hat
Tim Krassman, Holly Stroh, Jeff Bodin, Vicki Sjolie

British Columbia – Kimberley CC, Kimberley
Tom Buchy, Lori Buchy, Dave Toffolo, Robyn Toffolo

Manitoba – Hamiota CC, Hamiota
Terry McNamee, Lana Hunter, Allan Lawn, Lisa Blixhavn (replaces Tanya Enns)

New Brunswick – Riverside Country Club, Rothesay (Saint John)
Charlie Sullivan, Becky Atkinson, Kevin Boyle, Jane Boyle

Newfoundland and Labrador – Carol CC, Labrador City
Gary Wensman, Marcie Brown, Paul Mouland, Steph Casmey

Northern Ontario – Fort William CC, Thunder Bay
Craig Kochan, Liz Kingston, Colin Koivula, Alissa Begin

Northwest Territories/Yukon – Yellowknife CC, Yellowknife, NT
Steve Moss, Kalie Dobson, Brian Kelln, Danielle Ellis

Nova Scotia – Mayflower CC, Halifax
Paul Flemming, Kelly MacIntosh, Glen MacLeod, Theresa Breen

Ontario – Arnprior CC, Arnprior
Chris Gardner, Erin Morrissey, Brad Kidd, Kim Brown

Prince Edward Island – Charlottetown CC, Charlottetown
Robert Campbell, Rebecca Jean MacPhee, Robbie Doherty, Jackie Reid

Quebec – Club de Curling Etchemin, St-Romuald
Simon Hébert, Amélie Blais, Nicolas Marceau (replaces Marc Rivard), Vicky Tremblay

Saskatchewan – Hillcrest CC, Moose Jaw
Steven Slupski, Allison Slupski, Derek Owens, Danielle Sicinski