Qualifying countries announced for 2011 Ford World Men’s CC

The World Curling Federation has announced which countries have qualified to compete in the 2011 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship at the Brandt Centre in Regina April 2-10, 2011.  The Host Committee is looking forward to welcoming teams from Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Korea, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland and the USA. As the Host Country for the Championship, Canada automatically qualifies for the event.  The team that will represent Canada will be determined by who wins the 2011 Tim Horton’s Brier in London, Ontario, March 5 – 13, 2011. China and Korea secured their positions in the championship by finishing gold and silver respectively in the 2010 Pacific Men’s Curling Championship in Uiseong, Korea, in November. The qualifying countries from Europe were determined by the final standings of the 2010 European Curling Championship which took place in Champery, Switzerland, December 3 – 11, 2010.  The top eight teams in that championship qualified for the 2011 Ford World Men’s. Norway won the gold medal, followed -in order of final standing – by Denmark, Switzerland, Germany, Scotland, Sweden, the Czech Republic and France. The USA went unchallenged in the Americas Zone to secure the final position in the 2011 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship.