Brier Bound – Saskatchewan

As provincial and territorial qualifying events take place across the country, leading to the 2011 Tim Hortons Brier, we’re keeping you up-to-date on all the latest developments. Here’s the news from Saskatchewan. The field for the provincial championship – February 2-6 at the Battleford Curling Club in North Battleford – is now complete following North and South SaskTel playdowns over the weekend of January 21-23.

Team Saskatchewan at the 2010 Tim Hortons Brier

Moose Jaw’s Mark Herbert was the first to qualify out of the “A” side of play in the South playdowns at the Weyburn Curling Club, while Regina Highland’s Mike Eberle and Regina Callie’s Dean Moulding led their teams through the “B” side. Estevan’s Brent Gedak and Moose Jaw’s Jamey Jordison earned a berth in the North Battleford finals through “C” side competition. In the North playdowns held in Unity, Rosetown’s Carl deConinck Smith prevailed on the “A” side, while Shellbrook’s Derek Gaudreau and Saskatoon Sutherland’s Darren Camm advanced through the “B” side of the draw. Sutherland’s Brian Humble and Martensville’s Mark Lane were the final two qualifiers. Reigning Saskatchewan champions – Darrell McKee, Bruce Korte, Roger Korte and Rob Markowsky – fell short in a bid to defend their 2010 title. Pat Simmons, Randy Bryden, Terry Marteniuk, Brad Law, Shawn Joyce and Scott Bitz previously pre-qualified for the provincial finals.