Countdown to the 2011 Tim Hortons Brier begins

The countdown to the 2011 Tim Hortons Brier, presented by Monsanto, has officially begun, as the first of 12 men’s provincial/territorial championships gets underway today in Quebec.

Team Alberta at the 2010 Tim Hortons Brier

By February 13, all the teams, representing the 10 provinces plus Northern Ontario and Northwest Territories/Yukon, for the 82nd edition of the Canadian Men’s Curling Championship, March 5-13 at the John Labatt Centre in London, will be determined. This marks the seventh year of Brier title sponsorship by Tim Hortons, the largest quick service restaurant chain in Canada. It’s also just the second time that London has hosted the Brier, after staging the 1974 renewal, when won by Alberta’s Hec Gervais. The Canadian Curling Association website will provide brief summaries of each championship as the winners are declared. Provincial curling association/federation websites offer links to draw results and other event information. Jan. 31-Feb. 6 Quebec Buckingham Arena, Gatineau Feb. 1-6 Newfoundland/Labrador Re/Max Centre, St. John’s Feb. 1-6 Nova Scotia Dartmouth Curling Club, Dartmouth Feb. 2-6 New Brunswick Miramichi Curling Club, Miramichi Feb. 2-6 Saskatchewan North Battleford Arena, North Battleford Feb. 3-7 Prince Edward Island Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club, Summerside Feb. 6-13 Northern Ontario Fort William Curling Club, Thunder Bay Feb. 7-13 British Columbia Vernon Curling Club, Vernon Feb. 7-13 Ontario Grimsby Peach King Centre, Grimsby Feb. 9-13 Alberta High River Arena, High River Feb. 9-13 Manitoba Beausejour Sun Gro Centre, Beausejour Feb. 10-13 NWT/Yukon Yellowknife Curling Centre, Yellowknife