CCA unveils The Dominion MA Cup and Governor’s Cup competitions

The Canadian Curling Association (CCA) today unveiled a provincial/territorial ranking system to measure Member Associations (MA) performances at all of its sanctioned national championships, beginning with the 2010-2011 season. The program is also intended to generate interest among curling fans across the country. The winning MA, based on highest average points, will hoist The Dominion MA Cup, presented by TSN, while the province/territory making the biggest year-to-year improvement on an average points basis receives the Governor’s Cup. Both Cups will be presented at the Canadian Curling Association’s National Curling Congress in June. The Canadian Curling Association is made up of 14 Members Associations, representing Canada’s 10 provinces, plus Northern Ontario and the territories of Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. “For years, curling enthusiasts across Canada have enjoyed regional rivalries and oftentimes have debated as to whether their province or territory was better than another,” explained Greg Stremlaw, the CCA’s Chief Executive Officer. “It is based on this regional rivalry that the CCA has decided to add some legitimacy to a very basic ranking system which will help track how Member Associations perform at each of our national championships. “While many fans are already doing so in various forms, we have decided to add formality to this by tracking it and continuously updating information so our fans can have some fun based on regional performance by their province or territory. The winner of this annual friendly competition will be awarded The Dominion MA Cup and bragging rights for the year.” Member Associations will be ranked by its team’s final position at the following eight annual Canadian championships: Canadian Mixed, M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s, Scotties Tournament of Hearts, Tim Hortons Brier, World Financial Group Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s and TMX Wheelchair. The final positions at each event will earn points on a scale from 14 (winner) – 1 (failed to qualify). If non-playoff teams finish tied in won-loss records at any championship, the position (and accompanying points) will be determined by the head-to-head result in the round robin. The Member Association with the highest points average will be declared the winner. In other words, the total number of points earned by the MA team’s finish at each championship will be divided by the number of championships participated in, in order to calculate average points. Member Associations will only be awarded points for competitions they tried to qualify for. For current standings, rules and tiebreaking procedures, visit