Memorial and Wilfrid Laurier win the CIS/CCA University Curling Championships

The Memorial University Sea Hawks team of skip Colin Thomas, third Cory Schuh, second Chris Ford, lead Spencer Wicks, fifth Stephen Ryan, and coach Toby McDonald won the CIS / CCA Men’s Curling Championship presented by The Dominion with a thrilling 7-6 victory over the University of Manitoba Bisons skipped by James Coleman.

2011 CIS/CCA University Champions

On the women’s side, the Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks with skip Laura Crocker, third Sarah Wilkes, second Jen Gates, lead Cheryl Kreviazuk, fifth Pam Feldkamp, and coach Maurice Wilson outlasted Brock Badgers and skip Courtney Hodgson 7-4. The championship final were held Sunday, March 13 at the REMAX Centre in St. John’s, NL. Both teams have earned the right to represent Canada at the Karuizawa Invitational in Japan in January 2012. Linescores –