Nunavut Wins First Ever Game at a CCA Championship!

Nunavut’s Ed Sattelberger of the Iqaluit CC won that territory’s first ever game at a CCA championship. Sattelberger jumped out to a 3-0 lead after two ends against the Yukon only to have Scott Hamilton’s Whitehorse foursome tie it up at the 5th end break.  A key steal of one in the 8th end, followed by a force in the 9th, had Nunavut one point up coming home with the hammer. A simple open take-out with the final stone of the end resulted in the historic 9-5 win. Nunavut is now 1-8 while the Yukon remains winless at 0-9.

Team Nunavut at the 2012 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship

Alberta’s Kurt Balderston, the 1992 Canadian Mixed champion, had the morning off and continues to lead the standings at 8-1. Alberta has two key games today against BC and ON. Ontario and Quebec kept pace and are tied for third place at 7-3 following wins over Nova Scotia (7-3 for Ontario) and British Columbia (11-2 for Quebec) respectively. Nova Scotia drops to 2-7 and BC can’t afford another loss with a record of 5-4. New Brunswick is alone in second place at 7-2 and like Alberta, they had the morning off. Robichaud has a key match today against Northern Ontario’s Mike Assad whose playoff hopes are still alive after a convincing 9-6 win over former champ Sean Grassie of Manitoba. That victory earned him a 6-4 record and dropped Manitoba to the same record. Steve Moss of the Yellowknife CC continues his hot play and moves over the .500 mark with an 8-6 win over NL’s Gary Alcock (1-8). NWT is at 5-4 and still in the hunt for a playoff spot. Saskatchewan and PEI also had the morning off. SASK sits in 5th place at 6-3 while PEI struggles at 4-5. Standings For complete results, visit the CCA’s CurlCast Draws continue throughout the week at the Sudbury Curling Club with game times each day – Saturday, November 12 to Thursday, November 17 – at 10:00 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. The final draw is Friday, November 18th at 9:00 a.m. followed by playoffs leading to the championship final Saturday, November 19th at 1:30 p.m. (all times Eastern).