Saskatchewan In Four Way Tie For Second Place

Jason Ackerman moved into a four way tie for second place after the completion of Draw 14 at the Canadian Mixed in Sudbury. Team Saskatchewan cooled off Steve Moss from NWT who came into this round having won five of his previous six games. Ackerman stole four points in the 2nd end followed by steals of one and then two points in ends 3 & 4 cruising from there for a 10-4 decision. Saskatchewan’s record improves to 7-3 joining Quebec and Ontario, who enjoyed afternoon byes, and New Brunswick. NWT’s Moss falls to 5-5. New Brunswick’s Sylvie Robichaud (7-3) missed an opportunity to keep second place to herself falling 7-5 to Northern Ontario’s Mike Assad.  Assad stole two points in the 8th end to jump ahead by three. NB replied with a deuce in the 9th end, however, could only watch as Assad calmly drew for a single point in the last end and the win. Assad’s surging Thunder Bay rink sits at 7-4. Alberta remains in first place, now two games ahead of the field, by beating BC 8-3. Balderston ups his record to 9-1 and needs two wins in his last three games to earn the bye to the championship final, Saturday, November 19th at 1:30 p.m. BC’s playoff hopes have dimmed as their record drops to 5-5. Manitoba stays in the hunt with a 7-4 mark tied with Northern Ontario after an 8-5 victory over Yukon’s Scott Hamilton who remains winless at 0-10. In other Draw 14 action, PEI’s Brett Gallant beat Nunavut 9-2 to get to five wins against five losses keeping his slim playoff hopes alive. Nunavut drops to 1-9. Byes in Draw 14 were Ontario (7-3), Quebec (7-3), Nova Scotia (2-7) and Newfoundland & Labrador (1-9). Tonight’s key match-up is Ontario taking on first place Alberta. Standings For complete results, visit the CCA’s CurlCast Draws continue throughout the week at the Sudbury Curling Club with game times each day – Saturday, November 12 to Thursday, November 17 – at 10:00 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. The final draw is Friday, November 18th at 9:00 a.m. followed by playoffs leading to the championship final Saturday, November 19th at 1:30 p.m. (all times Eastern).