Down to four teams at CIS/CCA Curling Championships

WELLAND, Ont. – After four days of competition at the CIS/CCA University Curling Championships hosted by Brock University at the Welland Curling Club, the competition is down to the final four teams.

Brock University sweepers hard at work in semi-final action against University of Manitoba (Photo CIS/CCA University Curling Championships)

On the women’s side, it will be a rematch of last year’s championship final with the defending champion Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks taking on the host Brock Badgers. Laurier, a three-time CIS/CCA Champion will look to capture their fourth title in the past five years led by skip Laura Crocker (Scarborough, Ont.). In round robin play the Golden Hawks posted a 6-1 record to advance to the final. Their lone loss came against Brock in Draw 7 by the score of 6-5 in 11 ends. Brock, who is led by skip Joanne Curtis (Brampton, Ont.), will look to dethrone the Golden Hawks in front of a hometown crowd. During the round robin Brock posted a 4-3 record. The Badgers then went on to knock off the Alberta Pandas 6-4 in the tiebreaker and Manitoba Bisons 8-3 in the semi-finals to advance to their second straight national final. Led by skip Alyssa Vandepoele (Landmark, Man.) Manitoba captures their first bronze medal. On the men’s side the Alberta Golden Bears will battle the Waterloo Warriors with both teams vying for their first ever CIS/CCA championship crown. Alberta, who is led by 2012 World Junior Champion Brendan Bottcher (Sherwood Park, Alta.), finished the round robin with a 6-1 record to advance to the final. Their lone loss came against the UPEI Panthers by the score of 10-4 in Draw 3. Head-to-head, Alberta defeated Waterloo 7-3 in Draw 6. Waterloo, who is led by 2010 Canadian Junior Champion Jake Walker (Minden, Ont.) finished with a 5-2 record in round robin play. After starting a perfect 5-0, the Warriors dropped Draws 6 and 7 to Alberta (7-3) and Brock (7-4). In the semi-finals versus Brock, Waterloo opened with three in the first end and held off a late Brock run to defeat the Badgers by the score of 8-5 to advance to Saturday’s championship game. Led by second year skip Scott Brandon (Midland, Ont.), the Badgers capture the bronze medal for the first time in school history. The Championship finals takes place at 2 p.m. Sunday afternoon. Men’s Final Standings Alberta Golden Bears 6-1 Waterloo Warriors 5-2 Brock Badgers 4-3 Manitoba Bisons 3-4 Acadia Axemen 3-4 UPEI Panthers 3-4 Carleton Ravens 2-5 Winnipeg Wesmen 2-5 Men’s Semi-Final – Waterloo 8, Brock 5 Women’s Final Standings Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks 6-1 Manitoba Bisons 5-2 Alberta Pandas 4-3 Brock Badgers 4-3 Guelph Gryphons 3-4 Saint Mary’s Huskies 2-5 Western Mustangs 2-5 Memorial SeaHawks 2-5 Women’s Tiebreaker – Brock 6, Alberta 4 Women’s Semi-Final – Brock 8, Manitoba 3