CCA announces Hall of Fame Inductees and Award Winners

The Canadian Curling Association (CCA) today announced four inductees into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame, as well as the recipients of the Volunteer of the Year, Ray Kingsmith Executive of the Year and Awards of Achievement. The Hall of Fame inductees are Pat Sanders of Victoria, British Columbia; Millard Evans of Edmonton, Marv Wirth and Ken McLean, both of Sherwood Park, Alberta. Peter Waugh of Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia is the CCA’s Volunteer of the Year. Wayne Braun of Ferndale, WA, USA has been selected to receive the Ray Kingsmith Award while British Columbia’s Bill Tschirhart and Ontario’s Linda Corcoran are the recipients of the CCA’s Award of Achievement.

Pat Sanders (BC)

Pat Sanders (Hall of Fame) The Manitoba-born Sanders is inducted into the Hall of Fame in the curler category. She first came to prominence at the national level playing third stones for Victoria’s Steve Skillings, when British Columbia captured the 1985 Canadian Mixed at the Toronto Bayview Country Club. In 1987, with teammates Georgina Wheatcroft (Hawkes), Louise Herlinveaux and Debbie Massullo, she skipped her Victoria-based team to the Scott Tournament of Hearts title, defeating Manitoba’s Kathy Ellwood. Later that year, she captured the World Women’s Championship, beating Germany’s Andrea Schöpp in the final. In 2008 in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, she skipped British Columbia to the Canadian Senior Women’s Championship with a win over Ontario. A year later, Sanders travelled to Dunedin, New Zealand, where she defeated Switzerland to capture the *2009 World Senior Women’s title. (*Canadian Senior champions compete in the World Senior Championships the following year.) In 2010, while playing second stone for British Columbia’s Christine Jurgenson, she won her second Canadian Senior Women’s title over New Brunswick, then followed up a year later with a win over Sweden to capture the World Senior Women’s Championship for a second time.

Millard Evans, Ken McLean, Marv Wirth (AB)

Marvin Wirth, Ken McLean and Millard Evans (Hall of Fame) These three Alberta-based players played third, second and lead, respectively, on three Canadian and World Senior Men’s Championship teams for three different skips. At the 2005 Canadian Senior Men’s Championship in East St. Paul, Manitoba, under the guidance of Les Rogers, they defeated Saskatchewan for the title. A year later, at the 2006 World Senior Men’s Championship in Denmark, they defeated the United States. In 2007 in Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, now with Hall of Famer Pat Ryan at the helm, they defeated Ontario for their second Canadian title. In 2008 in Finland, they were victorious over Sweden while winning a second World Senior Men’s Championship. In 2010 in Ottawa, playing for skip Mark Johnson, they defeated Ontario for their third Canadian Senior Men’s crown in six years. Then, in 2011 in St. Paul, Minnesota, they won a third World Senior Men’s Championship with an extra end steal over United States. Wirth and Evans also have a fourth Canadian title, as skip and second, respectively, for Alberta when capturing the 1990 Canadian Mixed Championship.

Peter Waugh (NS)

Peter Waugh – Volunteer of the Year Mr. Waugh chaired a committee focused on expanding and improving the Strait Area Community Curling Club in Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia. After many months of work, the renovated facility opened in January 2011 with a new three-sheet arena and lounge. Waugh’s efforts have had far-reaching effects in the community. The new rink and the sport of curling have received more local media coverage and more community awareness, which has resulted in an increase in club membership. Mr. Waugh received his award in a special on-ice ceremony at the 2012 Tim Hortons Brier in Saskatoon. Wayne Braun – Ray Kingsmith Award Ray Kingsmith, a former CCA president, exemplified the volunteer executive, involved in every conceivable aspect of administration and management in the sport of curling. It is in Mr. Kingsmith’s honour that the CCA has recognized Wayne Braun, who has demonstrated a similar commitment and dedication to curling. Mr. Braun has over 15 years of experience on the Board of Directors of four different curling clubs in three provinces (Gimli, Manitoba; Saskatoon Granite, Saskatchewan; Peace Arch and Richmond in British Columbia). From 1994-2005, he was part of the provincial hierarchy which culminated in his presidency of Curl BC. He was also instrumental in the amalgamation of three regional associations into one entity, now known as Curl BC. Mr. Braun was a host committee director for the 1997 Scott Tournament of Hearts and most recently the co-chair of the 2011 National Dominion Club Championship. He is a founder and remains on the Operations committee of the highly successful Pacific International Cup.

Linda Corcoran (ON)

Linda Corcoran – Award of Achievement The CCA Award of Achievement recognizes individuals who have contributed significantly in one of four areas: builder, technical development, marketing and media. For 25 years, Linda Corcoran has worked as a Coach, Provincial Course Conductor, Master Learning Facilitator, Instructor and Official in Ontario, including her efforts in guiding the transition of the National Coaching Certification Program. Currently, she is the Technical Director for the Ontario Curling Association. She has authored, co-authored or co-produced 13 books and publications, all aimed at improving the sport of curling in Canada.

Bill Tschirhart (BC)

William (Bill) Tschirhart – Award of Achievement Mr. Tschirhart’s contributions to the development of elite curling athletes have spanned a 30-year period. His forensic examination of elite teams has been accomplished through workshops, sophisticated measuring devices, video analysis and perspectives in the areas of technical analysis, mental preparation, team dynamics, nutrition, game plan and physical preparation. Tschirhart is also the author/editor of the very popular A Pane In The Glass: A Coach’s Companion. The Hall of Fame inductees will be honoured at a special luncheon ceremony on Saturday, June 16 in Ottawa. The other awards will be presented to the winners in collaboration with their respective provincial/territorial Member Associations.