Countdown to the 2013 Tim Hortons Brier

One team has already booked a ticket to Edmonton, and 11 others will be making travel plans over the next two weeks as the field shapes up for the 2013 Tim Hortons Brier, presented by Monsanto. Jamie Koe’s team from Yellowknife has claimed the Yukon/Northwest Territories title, meaning he will skip in his seventh Canadian men’s curling championship, and fifth in succession, when he arrives at Rexall Place in Edmonton for the 2013 Tim Hortons Brier, which runs March 2-10, 2013. Koe’s team finished fourth at last year’s Brier in Saskatoon; it was the first time a Territories team had ever made the playoffs since the format was introduced at the Brier in 1980.

Yukon/Northwest Territories skip Jamie Koe of Yellowknife has already clinched a berth into the 2013 Tim Hortons Brier at Rexall Place in Edmonton. (Photo, CCA/Michael Burns)

The Quebec championship is underway this week in Victoriaville; the Saskatchewan (Melfort) and New Brunswick (Fredericton Junction) championships kick off on Jan. 30; and the rest of the Brier field will be decided on Feb. 10 when eight championship finals are scheduled. Defending champion Glenn Howard leads the field into the Ontario championship in Barrie, while 2012 silver-medallist and 2010 Brier and world champion Kevin Koe will contest the Alberta championship in Leduc. This is the ninth year that Tim Hortons has been the title sponsor of the Brier; it will be the sixth time Edmonton has hosted. The city holds the attendance record for the Brier; in 2005, 281,985 fans came out during the nine-day event. Next year’s Brier is scheduled for Kamloops, B.C. Check the Canadian Curling Association website ( for updates on the Brier field. The full draw for the 2013 Tim Hortons Brier is available at: For ticket information, go to: Here’s a complete listing of the various dates and host cities for provincial men’s championships, as well as the provincial association websites, where links are available to the various events: Date                    Province               Host city                    Website Jan. 21-27            Quebec                  Victoriaville       Jan. 30-Feb. 3     Saskatchewan        Melfort               Jan. 30-Feb. 3     New Brunswick      Fredericton Junction Feb. 4-10              Ontario                 Barrie                   Feb. 5-10              B.C.                      Parksville             Feb. 5-10              Nova Scotia          Truro                    Feb. 5-10              Nfld/Labr               St. John’s            Feb. 6-10              Alberta                  Leduc                  Feb. 6-10              Manitoba              Neepawa             Feb. 6-10              N. Ontario            Nipigon                  Feb. 6-10              P.E.I.                     Crapaud               For further information: Al Cameron Director, Communication and Media Relations Canadian Curling Association [email protected] Tel: 403-463-5500