Championship Pool set at Senior Women

The first stage of play at the 2015 Everest Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship has been completed and the eight teams competing for the title have been identified. Thirteen women’s teams (Yukon did not enter a team) are competing at this Canadian Seniors. Unlike the previous three years, when a pre-qualifying event was held to determine which two teams of gender advanced to the main draw, this year’s renewal sees all the teams seeded into two pools per gender to first play a round robin within their pool. In women’s, the top four in each pool advance to the Championship Round for games against the teams from the opposite pool, while the bottom three in Pool A join the bottom two in Pool B for a round robin within the Seeding Pool. Here are the top four teams from each pool and their records against the teams in their pool: Alberta (Terri Loblaw) 3-0 Saskatchewan (Cathy Inglis) 3-0 Manitoba (Kim Link) 2-1 Nova Scotia (Colleen Jones) 2-1 British Columbia (Sandra Jenkins) 1-2 Northern Ontario (Peggy Taylor) 1-2 Newfoundland & Labrador (Laura Phillips) 0-3 Québec (Élaine Roy) 0-3 Each team will play four more games against the teams form the opposite pool. Then, the best four records will advance to the playoffs where #1 will meet #4 and #2 will meet #3 in the semifinals.  The winners will play for the gold medal while the losers will play for bronze. The remaining five teams will play a round robin of four games to decide the rankings for seeds 9-13 for the 2016 Everest Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship in Digby, NS. Those teams are: New Brunswick (Shelly Graham) Northwest Territories (Debbie Moss) Nunavut (Bev Ford) Ontario (Kathy Brown) Prince Edward Island (Shirley Berry)