All-stars, award winners announced at 2018 Tim Hortons Brier

REGINA — The all-stars and other award winners at the 2018 Tim Hortons Brier, presented by Mosaic, were announced on the closing weekend of the championship.

(Photo, Curling Canada/Michael Burns)


(determined by shooting percentages during the round robin)

First Team (CLICK HERE for a picture of the First All-Star Team with Curling Canada Board of Governors member Scott Comfort) Skip — Brad Gushue, Team Canada (92 per cent) Third — Mark Nichols, Team Canada (89 per cent) Second — Brett Gallant, Team Canada (92 per cent) Lead — Denni Neufeld, Team Wild Card (92 per cent)

Second Team (CLICK HERE for a picture of the Second All-Star Team with Curling Canada Board of Governors member Scott Comfort) Skip — John Epping, Ontario (86 per cent) Third — Steve Laycock, Saskatchewan (86 per cent) Second — E.J. Harnden, Northern Ontario (87 per cent) Lead — Geoff Walker, Team Canada (92 per cent)

* In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he outcurls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.

Ross Harstone Sportsmanship Award

(voted by the players)

The Ross Harstone Trophy is presented each year to the player chosen by his peers as the curler in the Brier who best represents Ross Harstone’s high ideals of good sportsmanship, observance of the rules, exemplary conduct and curling ability.

Harstone was an energetic, positive man who was warm and full of energy and enthusiasm. He was a strong advocate of curling as a friendly, non-commercial game in which sportsmanship without victory is enough.

Harstone was a Brier Trustee in 1952 and was elected to the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1974 as a builder.

2018 winnerGreg Smith, Newfoundland/Labrador

(CLICK HERE for a picture of Greg Smith with Curling Canada Board of Governors member Scott Comfort)


Paul McLean Award

The Paul McLean Award is named in honour of the highly-respected TSN Producer of curling, CFL football and world junior hockey, who died of cancer at the age of 39 in December of 2005.

The Award was presented for the first time in 2007 by TSN to a media person behind the scenes who has made a significant contribution to the sport of curling.

2018 winnerMurray McCormick, Regina Leader-Post

(CLICK HERE for a picture of Murray McCormick with TSN’s Bryan Mudryk)