The Business of Curling workshop program promotes volunteer development and recognition as a vital component to curling club operations. For example, we encourage our curling clubs to formally recognize volunteers at a volunteer appreciation night. This is the one of the more significant tools a club can use to retain and re-motivate their volunteer ‘workforce’.

By creating a national award, we hope to set the example thereby encouraging clubs to create their own recognition programs.

The Volunteer of the Year Award is based on the nominee’s contributions from the previous curling season only. Please read the application form for full details.

Application Form

For any questions, please contact Rachel Delaney at 1 (800) 550-2875 x151 or [email protected].
If you would like an accessible version of this PDF, please email [email protected].

Volunteer of the Year Award Winners

2019 – Bill Shorter

Deep River Curling Club, Ontario

2018 – Cathy MacCallum

Club de curling Lacolle, Québec

2017 – Roger Smith

Club de curling Chelsea, Québec

2016 – Kate Barratt

Gibsons Curling Club, British Columbia

2015 – Louis Tanguay

Winkler Curling Club, Manitoba

2014 – Harvey Lyons

Lorette Curling Club, Dugald, Manitoba

2013 – Jany Tanguay

Club de curling Kénogami, Jonquiere, Québec

2012 – Samantha Stouffe

Paris Curling Club, Ontario

2011 – Peter Waugh

Strait Area Community Curling Club, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia

2010 – Brian Recksiedler

Morris Curling Club, Manitoba

2009 – John Lavich

Brookdale Curling Club, Manitoba

2008 – Ed Haggerty

Fredericton Curling Club, New Brunswick

2007 – Not Awarded

2006 – Tom Fry

Fort Frances Curling Club, Ontario

2005 – Suzanne Bertrand

Whitehorse Curling Club, Yukon

2004 – Delbert Comeau

Clare Curling Club, Meteghan, Nova Scotia

2003 – François Vary

St. Lambert Curling Club, Québec

2002 – Ellery Robichaud

Curling Beausejour Inc., Moncton, New Brunswick

2001 – Jake Lynka

Penticton Curling Club, British Columbia

2000 – Stuart Parrott

Beausejour Curling Club, Manitoba

Curling Canada