World wheelchair champs nominated for IPC award

Canada’s newly crowned world champion wheelchair curling team could be receiving another award in short order.

Team Canada, from left, Jim Armstrong, Dennis Thiessen, Ina Forrest, Sonja Gaudet and Mark Ideson show off their gold medals. (Photo, courtesy World Curling Federation)

The Canadian team — skip Jim Armstrong (Cambridge, Ont.), third Dennis Thiessen (Sanford, Man.), second Ina Forrest (Armstrong, B.C.), lead Sonja Gaudet (Vernon, B.C.), alternate Mark Ideson (London, Ont.) and coach Joe Rea (Prince George, B.C.) — is on the shortlist for the International Paralympic Committee’s (IPC) Athlete of the month award. Canadian curling fans are strongly urged to cast their votes for the winners at The Canadian team won gold at the Wheelchair Worlds on Feb. 23 in Sochi, Russia, with a win over Sweden in the final, giving our country its third world title in the past four championships. You can read the full news release from the IPC here.